Weight Loss Week Eleven ~ Rachel

I’m down 0.5lbs this week which was more than I was hoping for! I went a little crazy on Sunday night with sangria, avocado & mango salsa and  pork carnitas 🙂

I did meet my exercise goal of two days this past week…both were 2.5 mile walks around Lake Lynn. I have to tell you though, that my foot (the bad one with plantar fasciitis) has been flaring up since that second walk. I’ve a feeling that I need to investigate even more low-impact activities than walking. I don’t want my foot to be an excuse for not exercising but after spending last summer in a cast and walking boot because of it and then following it up with a steroid shot procedure that was so painful it made me want to pass out, I want to be very very careful. I know our apartment complex gym has a bike but I hate the idea of exercising indoors when it’s spring in North Carolina.

I did purchase dumbbells yesterday though…3, 5 and 8 pounders…they are next to the TV. I’ve already instructed Dave that when we sit down to watch our TV shows (and we have a lot of them), I’m not allowed to sit down until I’ve worked on my arms.

Any ideas on ways to exercise without aggravating my foot? I sure wish I could exercise in my Danskos…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • KJG  On March 30, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Hi Rachel– I’ve been following your blog. You are inspiring me to be more active. I’ve started walking home from work a couple of nights a week. It’s only 2 miles, but it’s uphill!

    Two great low-impact ways to exercise are swimming and pilates. Maybe you could do the matwork exercises outside?

  • Shelley B  On March 30, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Congrats on the loss – you are having steady progress, which is excellent!

    That’s too bad about your foot but I agree, you don’t want to aggravate it to the point where you were last summer. Biking, maybe?

  • jensmith12  On March 30, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    I was thinking the same thing that KJG suggested… swimming is a great low impact exercise… and you can do it inside or out and there’s a lot of variation. I’m sorry to hear about your foot… it must be tough when you want to exercise but you have to take it slow.

  • Kirsten Ostergaard  On March 30, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I’d suggest swimming, biking (even if on a stationary bike) and/or yoga. All great low-impact activities.

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On March 31, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    When I broke my toe last summer I turned to swimming and biking. I really enjoyed both and need to keep doing both in addition to my walk/runs.

    I hope it feels better soon – you have great fitting shoes right?

    Take care and congratulations on the weight loss. That’s how you get where you want to be!

  • Rachel Palmieri  On March 31, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions ladies! Swimming isn’t an option right now because of finances (I”m already spending on Weight Watchers) but I’m going to use Netflix to try out some Pilates videos and I think I might try the recumbant bike in my apartment complex gym.

Leave a Reply

