Hiking / walking shoe review ~ Dave

So I figured with my vast experince with different shoes in the past year, I should post something about this… it might help some people out.

Few things to remember here:
1) I am hard on shoes, like really hard on them, no idea why.
2) I pronate so these shoes are rated by me a pronater, so other pronaters be advised.
3) All of these shoes are augmented by Super Feet, if you do not own a pair BUY SOME NOW!!!
4) All these shoes can be found at REI or some other outdoor type store.

I have included reviews for different shoes I have tried over the past year.   These are rated by me on a 5 star system.

Keens Any type – 0 stars: Horrible!  It used to be Keen made a good shoe, that is not the case anymore.  In the past two years, I have gone through at least 4 pairs of Keens and Rachel has gone through 2 in a year or so.  They just fall apart and cannot take the abuse.  At all!  Do not buy them boycott them.  Funny story last time I was at REI, someone was on their third pair of Keens in a few months.  Maybe there is an issue.

Brooks Addiction – 4 stars:  This is the shoe I cannot remember the name of but I know they are Brooks.  They are street running shoes and man are they great for that.  They are comfortable and after almost a year they are still intact.  Rachel tends to wear her Brooks a lot more so she might have more input on these. 

Garmont Eclipse 3 GTX  – 2.5 stars:  These are supposed to be cross training shoes meant for the trails and walking among other things.  As far as casual shoes go they were great!  Comfortable enough room in them to not feel too snug.  The problem developed the first time I went on a 2 mile walk with them.  I had the shoes tied correctly and they fit fine.  But about 1 mile into it I feel something digging into my back ankle.  When I got home I looked and in that 2 miles the fabric in the back of the heel had ripped and plastic was jutting out ripping my ankle a new one.  Like I said for everyday casual comfor buy em but for anything else stay away.

Vasque Blur – 4.5 stars:  These are trail running shoes and boy are they great!  They are comfortable and snug but not too snug.  There is enough room in the toe box to accomodate any foot width.  They perform as expected and are light.  I bought the Gortex variant as we have a fair amount of wetness here and they clean off easily usually just by stepping in a puddle.  Whether walking or the occassional jogging spurt they hold up well and support my feet well.   The only loss of a half star is because when it comes to low ankle support they could use a bit more stability.  These are the shoes I twisted both ankles in.

Vasque Breeze – 4.5 stars:  I now love Vasque!  These are hiking boots made for any type of trail.  They are made of Goretex so cleanup is not an issue.  The toebox is a little snug but does not bother my feet, my socks do though.  I use these for casual work shoes and for hiking and wilderness walking.  They are light for a hiking boot and sturdy as well.  The interior stability is almost too good at times, but I cannot complain as every tree or rock I hit my ankles are fine and dandy.  The sole gives enough to be able to take on the rough terrain but is sturdy enough that flat unpaved trails do not hurt.  The only reason it go half a star off is the fact that the back of the heel is rounded to promote less slippage and better walking habits.  At first it caused me to pronate like crazy till I got used to it.  I don’t notice it as much now but sometimes it still feels odd.

So there you have it hope this helps anyone looking for a good shoe.  My suggestion is Vasque for any possible off road time.  Just make sure they feel good and buy some Super Feet!  You can thank me later.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On March 18, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I never heard of Super Feet before so I’ll be sure to check them out! I am a Nike running shoe person myself. It’s so important to have great shoes!!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On March 19, 2010 at 6:49 pm

      If you have any kind of issue with your feet, Super Feet are the best OTC insert you can get! They’ve helped immensely with my very chronic plantar fasciitis! Just be sure to get fitted for them…the colors actually mean something important!

  • Nikki  On March 18, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Amen. I have Superfeet in my Vasque hiking boots! All my hikers have been Vasque, come to think of it, and Brooks definitely makes a good running shoe.

    The other brand I’ve found to be very helpful for pronators is New Balance, at least for walking/everyday tennies. Have you tried them at all?

Leave a Reply

