For Mushroom Lovers Only ~ Rachel

Dave and I LOVE mushrooms and I am often buying pounds of them at a time in the grocery store because my week’s meal plan requires them almost daily. I tried out the recipe below from the Weight Watchers Momentum Slow Cook It: 165 All-New Slow-Cooker Recipes cookbook which I think is only available at meetings. In the end, cooking it in the crockpot was a bad idea as it dries it out. Instead, I bake the stuffed chicken breasts at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes.

Mushroom & Cheese-Stuffed Chicken Breasts

2 tsp olive oil

1/4 lb cremini (baby bella) mushrooms, finely chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped (I used minced from a jar…I know, I know terrible)

2 Tbsps dry vermouth (I use vermouth every time a recipe calls for dry white wine)

1/3 crumbled goat cheese with herbs

(4) 4oz skinless boneless chicken breasts (I use whatever size I can get my hands on that will allow me to stuff)

1/2 cup chicken broth

  • Heat 1 tsp oil over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp pepper…cook, stirring occasionally until  mushrooms are browned, about 3-4 minutes
  • Add garlic and cook for about 1 minute, stirring constantly, until fragrant
  • Add vermouth and cook until evaporated, about 1-2 minutes
  • Remove from heat and add the goat cheese after about 10 minutes, stirring until it’s fully incorporated
  • Stuff chicken breasts with mushroom and goat cheese mixture…I use toothpicks to hold everything together
  • Season chicken breasts with remaining salt and pepper
  • Pour chicken broth in the skillet and bring to a boil, scraping up all the brown mushroom bits from before. Pour over the chicken breasts.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes

Serve with Wild Mushroom on Polenta Rounds, also from Weight Watchers, and a vegetable of some sort. Delicious!

If you like mushrooms this meal is the meal for you! Trust me! Dave thinks this should be on the menu on a weekly basis (along with the Meatloaf Muffins)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jenn@slim-shoppin  On March 14, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    I think I have to try mushrooms again. I used to like them when I was little, but your idea looks so good to me!

  • Mary Beth  On March 14, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    It really is a great meal! I give it two forks up!

Leave a Reply

