Pop ~ Rachel

I am from western PA so I say pop. Others say soda. Still others call it Coke even when they mean 7-up (Craziness). But just so you know what I’m talking about, when I say pop I mean carbonated soda pop beverages.

I generally don’t drink regular pop. Every now and then the occasion calls for a real root beer but I mostly stick to diet pop. Does this make it ok? I mean, diet pop is calorie free so it’s not counting against my WW daily points. It is, however, full of sodium and preservatives and artificial sweetener. It probably affects my IBS and it probably contributes to acid reflux in some way. It can’t be good for me.

So I’ve given myself a challenge for the week beginning today: No pop whatsoever for one week (through next Saturday).

So what am I going to drink? I can’t drink those flavored sparkling waters because the artificial sweetener taste makes me want to gag. I had a sigmoidoscopy a couple of years ago, had to drink some nasty stuff to clear me out and tried to mask the flavor with the flavored sparkling waters. Now I just hate flavored water! I also can’t drink juice as that sends my acid reflux into overdrive. So what does that leave me with?

Water, tea, coffee and milk. I’ll probably brew up some iced tea and sweeten it with Splenda. I will also probably hit up Starbucks this week for at least one venti skinny caramel latte (only 3 pts for the milk in it).

I’ll report back next Sunday to let you know how I did. Until then, I will try to keep my hands off of the Diet Dr. Pepper Cherry (aka, liquid crack) in our fridge.

Goodbye old friend.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On March 7, 2010 at 10:22 am

    oh no! no more liquid crack!

  • Nikki  On March 8, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    If you find that it needs a home, it’s always welcome with me.

  • Lori (Finding Radiance)  On March 8, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Have you tried the unsweetened seltzer water that has flavor added? I like those because they are not sweet at all, but you get a little hint of fruit.

    Studies have shown that your body expects sugar to hit the bloodstream when you consume artificial sweeteners, and when it doesn’t happen, your body might make you crave more. You’ll get used to not having soda. It just takes a little time.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On March 8, 2010 at 10:25 pm

      I’ve tried seltzer water and hated it but maybe the fruit flavored version would be ok. I’ll maybe give it a try when I’m at the store next. Today wasn’t easy…I craved pop several times. But I didn’t cave 🙂

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On March 8, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    I used to live on Diet Cokes, but eventually gave them up. I generally drink teas and maybe one cup of coffee a day! You can do it!

  • Health Foodie  On March 8, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Wow, What a great goal!!!

    If you can get over your pop addiction you will have made a HUGE step towards all your goals. No, it is not going to be easy…and it will take a couple of weeks if not months of no pop until you are no longer addicted. But it will be so worth it! I don’t know if this is another motivation, but think about all the money you will save when you can drink water from the sink (with a filter). You can use that money to buy new (smaller) clothes or go on a vacation!

    You can do it! Always think about how we are all cheering for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

