Paying it Forward ~ Rachel

I’ve spent a little time this afternoon catching up on David Kirchhoff’s blog, Man Meets Scale. David is the CEO of Weight Watchers International. He also happens to be a lifetime member of Weight Watchers. I happened upon a post in August 2009 entitled “Lose for Good: Weight Loss Math for a Good Cause” that described a program where folks would donate food to local food banks equaling, in weight, the number of pounds they had lost.

I’m adopting this idea on a smaller scale (no pun intended). For every pound I lose, we (Dave and I) will donate one pound of food to the local food bank. For every pound Dave loses, we will donate one pound of food to the local food bank. Our end date will be June 30th.

Any of you readers want to join in the challenge? For those of you who are trying to lose weight, will you join me in this endeavor? For those of you who are just along for the ride here, will you match my contribution to a local food bank on June 30th?

David donated 30lbs of groceries and carried them all in to the food bank himself:

Hopefully Dave and I will need to either enlist help or do trips from the car!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

  • By Paying It Forward ~ Rachel « Losing it! on June 26, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    […] 26, 2010 at 5:34 pm (Not really in a category) On March 2nd, I told you all that for every pound Dave and I lost, we’d donate a pound of food to……our end date would be June 30th. Well, it’s almost June 30th and Dave and I have […]

Leave a Reply

