Getting healthy is bloody expensive!~ Dave

So in an effort to get more exercise I have decided I want a good hybrid bike or mountain bike that can handle the roads well.  I used to bike a lot when I was young and always enjoyed it.  Just cruising around the neighborhood, hitting trails doing wicked awesome jumps.

So this weekend I hit up a sporting goods store.  I looked at bikes and spoke to the associate about what I would need.  Fat people rejoice!  The $700 fat person bike is not neccessary.  I learned the two things you want in a good bike are rims that are double walled alloy and a bottom bracket that is a sealed cartridge.  Both of those items mean heavier people can ride and not worry about the bike falling apart.

So he let me try out some bikes see how they fit.  I was leaning towards a Nishiki but the reviews not so great.  Then I looked at the Diamondbacks just as good, the features I needed and more comfortable.  I then bid them farewell as this purchase has to wait until my birthday rolls around and I can ask for money for said day.  But the bikes usually start at $350 or so for a good bike and for a really good bike they do hit the $1,000’s but you don’t need that much.

On the same topic of $$.  I had to get shoes better suited for my size and walking habits, I pronate.  Well that was $300 but it was well worth it.  I also do not mind the sounds of nature but would rather deal with some industrial music pumping a fast beat in my ear.  Well my iPod died that was another $200.

Come June when I get my bike I will have spent at least $850 on my health, and more like $1,000.  This is not even including clthes that I had to buy to start working out.  Oy vey!  At least it will be worth it!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On March 1, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Those dollars are definitely worth it! They will come back to you with improved health long-term and hopefully less medical bills and prescriptions. I don’t know if you do Craiglist, but a friend of mine found a fabulous bike that someone hardly rode that retailed for $900 and she bought it for $150.00! Just a thought!

    Take care and I’m glad you came by the blog today. It’s great to meet you!

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On March 1, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Those dollars are definitely worth it! They will come back to you with improved health long-term and hopefully less medical bills and prescriptions. I don’t know if you do Craiglist, but a friend of mine found a fabulous bike that someone hardly rode that retailed for $900 and she bought it for $150.00! Just a thought!

    Take care and I’m glad you came by the blog today.

Leave a Reply

