Meatloaf & Mashed Potatoes ~Rachel

Last night we had our friend Nikki over…she doesn’t like mushrooms or avocado…she was mostly safe because Dave hates avocado but since we put mushrooms in just about everything, I was challenged to come up with something to make for dinner. Well, I am here to tell you that you can eat damn tasty meatloaf and mashed potatoes while not eating up a lot of your Weight Watchers points. Below is the meatloaf recipe and a link to the garlic mashed potatoes recipe. For those of you with little kids, this meatloaf recipe is awesome because it is made in a muffin pan (how cute!).

Weight Watchers’ Tried & True Meatloaf Muffins
1 Pound Extra Lean Ground Beef  (I used 93/7)
4 oz. Zucchini, unpeeled and shredded
1 Egg
1 Cup Ore Ida Hash Browns, frozen (I used the shredded has browns, not the little potato chunks)
1/2 Cup Fat Free Shredded Cheddar Cheese (I used the 2% reduced-fat shredded cheddar)
1/2 Package (3 oz.) Kraft Stove Top Seasoned Stuffing Mix
1/4 Cup Reduced Fat Parmesan Cheese (I’m not sure this exists…I used regular Parm)
1/2 teaspoon Minced Garlic
1 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce
1/4 Cup Ketchup
1/4 Cup Onion, chopped (I left out and used onion powder instead)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Mix all ingredients.
Divide evenly into 12 muffin tins (I used a 1/3 measuring cup to divide the mixture)
Bake 30-40 minutes or until done.
Each meatloaf muffin=3 points

Garlic Mashed Potatoes from Skinny Weight Watcher Recipe blog

I added fresh tarragon to my serving of potatoes…it smelled like licorice which is a bit of a turnoff for me…but in the end, the tarragon was nice. I would probably choose fresh chives or maybe fresh thyme next time.

I had leftovers for lunch today and I think that, perhaps, everything tasted even better the second day! Even the mashed potatoes, which almost never taste good nuked in the microwave, were awesome!

Dave and I are heading out to the farmer’s market tomorrow…we’ll see what kind of produce we come home with. If only we could get mushrooms…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Nikki  On February 19, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Now, see, you *could* have used mushrooms, as long is it was either 1) sparingly, or 2) I could have picked them out. Actually, I do like shiitake mushrooms in hot’n’sour soup.

    Hooray for meatloaf! Thanks so much again — it was really good to see you guys..

  • Ana Gates  On February 19, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    reduced fat parmesean cheese does exist scuz. it’s what mom normally buys.

    also, you convinced me on these recipes. i’m going to try them.

  • Detje Bea  On February 22, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    I love your blog. This recipe sounds delicious.

  • Augustina  On May 17, 2013 at 3:35 am

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome website!

Trackbacks

  • By For Mushroom Lovers Only ~ Rachel « Losing it! on March 13, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    […] If you like mushrooms this meal is the meal for you! Trust me! Dave thinks this should be on the menu on a weekly basis (along with the Meatloaf Muffins) […]

  • By Cupcakes for Dinner ~Rachel « Losing It! on January 20, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    […] trend of cooking everything in muffin tins but I want to thank them profusely.  I’ve made Weight Watcher’s Mini Meatloaf Muffins before…lots of times…and have enjoyed both the food and the built-in portion control. […]

Leave a Reply

