Steel Cut Oats ~ Rachel

Has anyone out there ever cooked and/or eaten steel cut oats? My morning staple of egg beaters, spinach and reduced-fat feta cheese is getting *a little* old and I wanted to try something else. In terms of oatmeal, I always made the instant Quaker packages with some half and half, raisin and walnuts. But this recipe at The Bitten Word seems to be quite easy and yummy. Suggestions on what to add to it for flavor?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • isladeangela  On February 10, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I L*O*V*E Steel Cut Oats (Oprah raved about them so I gave them a try). Here’s a post I did a while back about making it in the crock pot and a bunch of topping suggestions. http://isladeangela.wordpress.com/2008/10/23/omg-crock-pot-oatmeal-and-freebie-list/ The crock pot worked well but what I do now is just take the 30-45 minutes on a Sunday and cook enough for the week. It reheats really well with a little added liquid. I recommend “toasting” the oats in a small skillet – like you would nuts – just to get them a little nutty smelling and slightly brown – then cook them as the directions say. You can use any liquid or combination of liquids instead of just water. I’ve never tried it but I’ve heard apple juice or partial apple juice is good (that would add sugar to it, though).

    On my plan here is how I prepare them now: I put 1/2 cup of cooked, cold, oatmeal in a bowl, add 1/4 scoop of protein powder (mine is unsweetened), 1 packet of Splenda, and either a big scoop of unsweetened apple sauce or 1/2 a small jar of Earth’s Best Organic baby food (I like apples and blueberries or apples and apricots – I don’t like how the banana one smells). I mix it all really well – it takes a moment to get smooth – then I microwave it for 1 minute, stir, and put back in for 30 seconds. Sometimes I add frozen blueberries and I really like a drizzle of sugar free syrup on top. A pinch of cinnamon is good with applesauce, too.

    I didn’t grow up eating oatmeal but I think this really tasty. It’s much better for you than the little packets. Try it! – Angie

    • Rachel Palmieri  On February 10, 2010 at 11:24 am

      Wow! Thanks for the tips, Angie! I would have never thought to add baby food to it but that sounds like a good idea…I’ve used baby food carrots in meatloaf before so I know it comes out nicely. I think I’m gonna add steel cut oats to my grocery list!

  • Desiree  On February 10, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Steel cut oats are a breakfast staple for me. I also cook a week’s worth and dump it into a bread loaf pan and then cut slices off and reheat each day. (Reminds me of this tour I took in Ireland and how they told us in olden times they used to cook a ton of porridge and pour it into a drawer in the sideboard and cut chunks off each day. Sounded very potato famine to me at the time and yet, here I am).

    I’m anti-sweetner so I just throw in some frozen blueberries and let them defrost on the reheated wedge.

    I’ve also heard you can make them in the rice cooker but haven’t tried it yet.

  • justfortuitous  On March 1, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    I add chopped fruits to my oatmeal….usually some kind of berries or sweet fruit like peaches, plums, apples, etc. When I feel like a more savory oatmeal, I add chopped veggies like carrots, celery, spinach, alfalfa sprouts, nuts, beans…pretty much whatever I feel like adding. Also, try adding some spices like cinnamon and nutmeg…it makes it smell so delicious!

Leave a Reply

