Snow, Sleet and Slipping Off the Wagon ~ Rachel

We got 5 inches of snow here in Raleigh this weekend! As a Pittsburgher and forever Yankee, I sure do miss snow so the storm was kind of sweet. It started Friday night and was then covered with a nice layer of sleet on Saturday, making for a very crunchy and treacherous outdoors.  We tried to get to the dog park Saturday afternoon but didn’t get very far before turning around. Essentially, we were snowed in Saturday. Kharma and Darwin did get to play in the snow with us:

Kharma (top) and Darwin (bottom)

Dave had been watching the SyFy channel all day where they kept broadcasting Domino’s Pizza commercials. Well, the marketing worked and Dave WALKED to get us Domino’s for dinner. Their pizza has definitely changed for the better…the commercials weren’t lying! Unfortunately, I just kept eating the rest of the evening. It doesn’t matter that the snacks were Weight Watcher’s (low points)…I ate too much of everything! I just kept eating and eating. I’m pretty sure it was out of boredom and lack of routine and planning.

Sunday was a little bit better and we actually made it to the dog park. However, Dave decided he wanted Taco Bell for dinner and offered to go get it. Apparently, a little snow storm won’t keep us from crappy food. Anyways, I ordered mostly healthy choices but fell of the wagon and got a 7-layer burrito. I love those things! I continued to eat even more that evening once again. It’s like the crappy food just kick started my old habits again.  I had made these awesome Oatmeal Raisin bites which, at 1 point per “bite, are a nice dessert to calm the sweet tooth. But when you eat like 8 of them, the points add up! And worse than the points is the fact that I fell into my old habits once again. By bedtime, I felt full. And not a good full. It was a slightly uncomfortable bloated feeling that I hadn’t had since beginning Weight Watchers.

I know this happens to everyone. And I know it will happen again, lots of times. It’s not the end of the world. It’s not going to send me into a tailspin. It’s not going to make me feel like a total failure. It just gives me more to work on and a reason to get up the next morning and change the nasty habits one more time.

I did just finish the Domino’s pizza for lunch…but I’m making a promise to myself to not go over points today! That will be the difference!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shelley B  On February 1, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    I think weird weather events mess up our diet. A year ago we had to stock up for Hurricane Ike that was headed our way (missed us) and of course I had to eat the hurricane food anyway!

    P.S. I love your dog’s names!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On February 1, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      Thanks! Kharma is sort of named after the song Kharma Chameleon…I’m always singing it to her. Darwin got his name because when his foster Mom brought him over to meet Kharma, he ran into our sliding glass door not once, but twice. We figured “survival of the fittest” was an ironic concept for him 🙂

  • dweber77  On February 2, 2010 at 9:07 am

    I think it has to do with the cold weather. Our bodies go into survival mode even though we could well survive. Humans by nature seek out fat, carbs and sugars because they were rare in nature a long long time ago. Now they are readily available and bad for us in large quantities. I saw that damn pizza commercial at least 15 times in 2 hours. I guess their marketing strategy worked.

Leave a Reply

