Eating Lightning, Crapping Thunder ~ Rachel

I LOVE inspirational sports movies. The very best inspirational sports movie is, of course, Rocky. It’s also my all-time favorite movie. Most people don’t understand this, especially given my other tastes in film,  and Dave rolls his eyes at me when I get all excited about Rocky but hey, what can I say? Never has a movie inspired me to do one armed push-ups! I once got to run (or maybe I walked, I don’t remember) the steps at the Philadelphia Art Museum (and somehow lost the picture of me, triumphant at the top) and it was awesome. There is a whole book dedicated to the stories of people running those steps…I highly recommend it.

I HATE exercising. I need something (or a lot of things for that matter) to motivate me to exercise. Well, given that Rocky is so inspiring to me, I’m going to use him for motivation. I’ve added the Rocky soundtrack to my iPod exercise playlist. That’s right. Gonna Fly Now is at the top of the list. Thinking back in history to times I made it to a gym, I can remember pushing myself just a little bit harder when that song came on. It’s like a jolt of electricity going through my veins.  I’m also going to watch Rocky’s training montage on YouTube every morning.  Is it odd that these are things that motivate me? I mean, losing weight and getting healthy and having nice sculpted arms and shoulders like I did when I was a swimmer certainly are motivators, but they don’t get me moving very quickly. As Mick told Rocky, “You’re gonna eat lightning and you’re gonna crap thunder.” I might not be there just yet but like Rocky did, I have to start somewhere!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Nathan Clendenin  On January 28, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    getting out the door is indeed the hardest part of exercising… but once you’re out half the battle is over.

    and the punching hanging meat part has always been my favorite part of that training montage.

  • Shelley B  On January 28, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Thanks for that blast from the past! Now I want to go punch some meat!

    I used to hate exercising. Sometimes I still do while I’m in the middle of a workout. But I’m always glad I did it.

  • Ana Gates  On January 30, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    crapping thunder sounds like it would hurt

Leave a Reply

