A Pound is a Pound is a Pound ~ Rachel

Folks,  in case you are under the impression that muscle weighs more than fat, let me be the first to tell you you’re wrong. A pound of muscle weighs the same as a pound of fat…they both weigh a pound. Muscle is more dense than and takes up less room than fat. An illustration:

So, if you’ve been working out and your clothes are fitting looser but the scale isn’t budging, it’s probably because you are gaining muscle mass…it weighs the same as fat but takes up less space. Got it? Ok, good.

I made a really tasty lemony garlic shrimp tonight for dinner that was an obscene amount of shrimp for a not so obscene number of points. I served it with sauteed zucchini that was mixed with some extra virgin olive oil, salt, pepper, basil, oregano and onion powder. Dave isn’t a fan of rice so I left out a starch for the meal but we both agreed that this would be tasty with some whole grain pasta. None of that regular pasta now, you hear?

I weigh in tomorrow. I don’t feel quite as confident as I did last week for some reason. Notoriously, the second week of a “diet” (I’m not on a diet but it seems funny to say second week of a healthy lifestyle change) is horrible. I’m not sure why exactly. I pretty much stayed on points this week so we’ll see what happens. I’ll take whatever I can get…or lose…you know what I mean. If I gained, oh well. It happens!

I’m still doing horrific on the exercise thing…I just can’t get motivated. I’ve got a deadline to meet for work/dissertation but am hoping that by next week I’ll be in an exercise groove. Speaking of that deadline…back to crunching my numbers!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shelley B  On January 26, 2010 at 3:12 am

    That picture really says everything! Not only is muscle smaller, but it’s also smoother…which makes sense why my lumpiness is disappearing as I tone up. Thanks for posting it.

    Good luck with your weigh-in tomorrow!

  • justfortuitous  On March 1, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    When they say muscle weighs more than fat, I think they mean by space, not by weight. Like a “handful” of fat weights less than a “handful” of muscle. Just like how a medallion of pork weighs more than a medallion of salad. Good luck on your weight loss!

Leave a Reply

