Food Rules ~ Rachel

In my quest to lose weight, there are a few “rules” I am trying to combine and follow. It isn’t easy:

(1) Stay within my daily allotted points according to the Weight Watcher plan: Points are based on calories, fat and fiber. For example, those high fiber “light” english muffins are only a point versus the regular whole grain english muffins (2 pts) because they have so much fiber in them.

(2) Eat real food: Dave and I recently watched Food, Inc and I’ve been reading a little bit of Michael Pollan’s work. He wrote In Defense of Food and The Omnivore’s Dilemma but most recently combined all of his common sense into a tiny little, pocket-sized book called Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual. I’ll be using some of those rules in my blog posts.  In general, Pollan advises us to “Eat food. Mostly plants. Not too much.”

(3) Eat locally: I recently joined The Produce Box (see link somewhere to the right) which provides local produce to my door on a weekly basis for a small fee in the seasonal months of the year. I’m also trying to get to the Farmer’s Market at least twice a month.  It’s not difficult to eat local produce, for the most part, but it’s a little trickier (and more expensive) to eat local meat and seafood.

(4) Eat ethically: Grass-fed beef…cage-free chicken eggs…free of hormones and antibiotics…free-range chicken…nothing that came from a confined animal feeding operation…no genetically modified foods. Yeah, yeah, yeah, some of you think I sound like a crazy person for putting these restrictions on my meat and related foods, especially since none of those things listed are cheap. I’m not going to be perfect about it but I would love to be more conscious about it when I go to the store. It’s hard to pass up boneless, skinless chicken breast for $1.97/lb at Kroger but I can tell you that they weren’t free-range and are probably laden with antibiotics and hormones.  Doesn’t sound too appetizing does it?

So when I am reaching for the 2pt ice cream candy bar from Weight Watchers, I am fulfilling my first rule but certainly not the others.  But those 2pt ice cream bars are darn tasty and they satisfy my sweet tooth without sabotaging my weight loss efforts. Fat free sour cream is a lot lower in points than regular sour cream but frankly, it isn’t food. It barely resembles food.  I’m not even sure the decrease in points is worth it! So you see, I need to figure out the balance of these 3 things. It’s going to be tricky. Luckily you all get to figure it out with me!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shelley B  On January 23, 2010 at 1:27 am

    I recently watched Food, Inc. as well and am would like to eat more locally-grown foods but I can’t resist the pricing of Sam’s Club. I justify it by telling myself that at least I’m eating fruits and veggies, whereas before, they weren’t a big part of my diet (unless you counted the lettuce in my Taco Bell tacos).

    • Rachel Palmieri  On January 24, 2010 at 1:58 pm

      If you eat from the Fresco menu at TB you get lettuce AND a tomato salsa on your tacos! I can get the soft tacos for 3 points a piece which is a great point total when you’re on Weight Watchers. See how I just justified fast food… 🙂

  • Mary Beth  On January 23, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    I feel like I’m missing out, having not seen Food, Inc. … guess I need to add it to the Netflix queue.

  • Desiree  On January 24, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    I hear you on the sour cream (and any fat free/sugar free food really)! I have a love affair with sour cream and ranch dressing so I buy organic low fat plain yogurt and mix it with a bit of apple cider vinegar or lemon juice and some herb and use it on tacos, salads, pretty much anything.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On January 24, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      Sigh. I already miss Ranch dressing. I need to figure out how to make my own healthy version.

  • fatbridesmaid  On January 25, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Hi Rachel!

    Thanks so much for your awesome email message! I’m so glad you stumbled across my blog, and that you sent me the link to yours! 🙂

    (Side note: I just watched Food, Inc and it blew my mind. I’m so glad I watched it.

Leave a Reply

