Why I Want/Need to Lose Weight ~ Rachel

On January 12, 2010 I joined Weight Watchers. I weighed in at 265.4 pounds. I’m 5’8″ and I carry my extra weight better than some people but I’m still fat. According to the BMI scale, I should weigh between 132 and 164 pounds.  I cannot remember the last time I was under 200 pounds, let alone a healthy weight…I’m guessing I was a kid.  The following are just some of the reasons I need to and want to lose weight:

(1) I have high blood pressure…It’s not scary high but it’s definitely above the normal range. I know I can get it under control with a healthy lifestyle because I’ve done it before. My other numbers (cholesterol, blood sugar, etc) have never been bad but they can always be improved upon. I would love to not have heart disease at the age of 50. Or diabetes. Diabetes scares the crap out of me. I’ve never had a blood sugar problem before and there is no family history of diabetes but still…I’d like to keep it that way.

(2) My knees hurt. I live on the 3rd floor of an apartment building with no elevator. You do that math.

(3) I have chronic plantar fasciitis in my left foot and was in a walking boot and cast for most of Summer 2009 because of it. I’m now in shoes (good ones) after a shot of steroids and am hoping to never have to get that shot again because it hurts like hell. Obesity is one of the risk factors for plantar fasciitis. I have always had bad feet and being a normal weight might not be the answer but it sure couldn’t hurt!

(4) I’m tired of plus-sized clothing. There’s not a whole lot of variety and for the most part, everything is more expensive.

(5) I hate my body when I look in the mirror. Sure, I can identify the nice parts of my appearance but they are all above the neck. I want a butt that curves and slopes, not one that creates a shelf. I want a stomach that doesn’t roll. I want thighs that don’t…well, I know they’ll rub together but I don’t want them to stick together. I am not looking for the perfect body. I like curves. In fact, I love them. I would never want to be “skinny” but I sure could use a few fewer curves right now.

(6) I want to be around for Dave…I want to grow old with him…and I want to be around for the kids that we’ll have (which will be harder if we’re fat to begin with).

You get the picture. I don’t have to preach about the benefits of weight loss. But at least you know what’s mostly motivating me. I’ve gone through weight loss programs before, with initial success. But this time is different. I’m tired of being fat and dealing with all the things that come with it. I’ve hit my rock bottom.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On January 22, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    love it scuz!! : )
    i look forward to following your blog!!

  • Katie  On January 22, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    bravo! this post is so inspiring and you haven’t even started! i’m so excited to follow your progress. this is important service work you are doing, blogging about this.

Leave a Reply

