Why I want to lose weight – Dave

Hi Dave here.  I am normally a wordsmith of sorts but yeah this topic not so much.

I have always been plus sized now more than ever.  When I had my hernia operation I was told that being over weight gave me a greater risk of the hernia coming back.  Well guess what, I don’t want that.  So there is reason number 1.

Reason 2: I just want to feel healthier.  I realized I miss riding a bike on wooded trails, and I can’t do that without spending a fortune for a bike for bigger men.  Well losing weight will help that and I can get a bike and do what I enjoy again. 

Reason 3: Stupid I know but I hate the stares I get from people.  Yeah I am 6’3″ and carry my weight better than you would think.  Granted it’s 365 lbs or so and should not carry well on anyone.

Reason 4: Clothing… seriously!  Big guy clothes are boring as hell and rather expensive.  My final goal is to fit back into a 1x or 2x.  Currently I am in a 4x blech.

Reason 5: Man boobs, seriosuly they are kinda weird.  Want em gone.

Reason 6: My future.  With Rachel with kids and dogs.  It would be so much better if it was in a healthy state.  I want to be around for a long time to torture kids like my parents did to me.  I want to be able to pass the hell forward to my kids.

Reason 7: Geekiness! My goals are to learn how to sword fight, not that fencing BS but real swords.  It would help to be healthier to do so. I also want to LARP more and trying to find medeival clothes in my size is hard.  Yeah I’m a dork, so bite me!

So there you have it.  Plain and simple that is why I want to lose weight.

Goals:

Lose 150 lbs.  That will put me at 215.  I may go lower but we will see how I look plus once I start working out muscle will weigh more than fat and might throw off the scale a bit.

Run a 10 minute (maximum) mile. Currently I can do a 21 minute mile.  Not bad, but all of my siblings were runners, I used to be able to haul ass too.  I want to do that again so I can run from the po-po.

Do this the right way. Weight watchers and exercise.  Not that gastric bypass stuff.  If you had to use then that is what you had to do.  But I am not into the easy way out.  If it’s not a challenge with a 1D10 rating then forget it. (Oops geek humor there.)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On January 22, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    “I want to do that again so I can run from the po-po.”

    LOL. i like the plan you guys. : ) i’m working on my really shitty timed-mile right now too.

    good luck!

  • Todd  On January 22, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    D – I know you and Rach can do it! I believe in you guys!

  • Mary Beth  On January 23, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Penny – when you have a day that you would rather have the 6d6+2, please remember that diet cherry vanilla dr pepper is 0 calories (and, on those days, you can conveniently forget that it isn’t really food)… Hope week 2 is going well!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On January 24, 2010 at 8:01 pm

      Should Penny know about 6d6+2 (Heck, Leonard is a bit lost here)??? 😉

Leave a Reply

