Why I am blogging ~ Rachel

Greetings everyone!

I am not a wordsmith. In fact, my career as an epidemiologist will involve a lot more numbers than words. So, you’re probably wondering why I am joining the masses and starting a blog. Well, I need to lose weight. A lot of it. And this time, it has to stick. In order to lose weight successfully, I need to be accountable to someone other than myself. I joined Weight Watchers on Tuesday, January 12, 2010 and am accountable, somehow, to all the others in Weight Watchers. I figured I should add a little more accountability to the picture so I am going to blog for the world (or just my friends and family and maybe some random people in cyberworld) to read. I’m going to announce my weight (GASP!). I’m going to announce my triumphs and my pitfalls. I’m going to share recipes. I’m going to share my thoughts on food (yummy), food politics (a little scary) and physical activity (I’m not a fan). It’s not going to be pretty, folks. But you might learn something along the way about me…about food…about our food system…about random things you’ve never thought about before. Heck, I might even learn something!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Bec & Nate  On January 22, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    as your friends, you have our full support, Ranch! go for it (as Pastor Vincent would say)!

  • Nik  On January 23, 2010 at 5:11 am

    Wow, lady — way to go. I’m rooting for you guys! If you need a two-legged walking buddy when the weather gets nicer, let me know. :o)

    • Nik  On January 23, 2010 at 5:12 am

      (oh, and I just saw your “about us” page — Ha! Well played!)

    • Rachel Palmieri  On January 24, 2010 at 8:00 pm

      We will be exploring the local parks so I’ll keep you posted!

  • Mary Beth  On January 23, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Woohoo! I’m happy for you that you are excited about losing weight, discussing food politics, etc and that you are sharing the journey! (And, I’m excited for me that there is another blog to read!)

    You can do it!

Leave a Reply

